The lakeside Village of Wellington is nestled on the shores of Lake Ontario, with a view of the largest freshwater dunes in the world at Sandbanks. In the heart of Prince Edward County’s exciting new wine industry, Wellington is a warm and welcoming working village. Enjoy Wellington’s hospitality with fine dining, award-winning wines and a variety of art and musical events. Wellington is home to many artists and artisans. Browse the studios of painters, potters, a jeweller, glass blower and fibre artist, all within walking distance of each other. In the centre of the village is a waterfront park featuring a community-built playground and gazebo. Wellington also has a beach with a boardwalk along the shore to a lighthouse. Wellington harbour has docking facilities with Canada Border Services, for boaters arriving from the United States. Kayaks & canoes, paddleboards, boat rentals and fishing charters are available at the marina. Wellington Business Directory Arts & Entertainment Where to Shop Where to Eat Where to Stay Nearby Wineries Business Services Attractions Wellington Rotary Beach Marina Waterfront park Wellington Town Hall Wellington on the Lake Golf Course & Driving Range ESSROC Arena, public skating and an indoor walking track Wellington Dukes OHL hockey Annual Events Saturday Farmer’s Market (seasonal) Canada […]
The name “Waupoos” is derived from the Ojibwe waabooz, “rabbit”. The Waupoos area lies between the head of Smith’s Bay and Cape Vesey or the “Rock”. Heinrich Schmidt settled here in 1784 from whose name “Smith Bay” was derived. The view from the Rutherford B. Stevens lookout is gorgeous. This area is apple country, featuring an apple blossom festival in May (see the calendar of events) and pick-your-own apples in the fall. Prince Edward County is now Ontario’s official fourth wine region — and Waupoos has two of the County’s first wineries. Waupoos business directory: Where to Stay Where to Eat Breweries, Cideries & Wineries Fifth Town Artisan Cheese Factory Farm markets Waupoos Marina Attractions: Rose House Museum Rutherford Stevens scenic lookout Sunday music in the Park (seasonal) Petting zoo at Waupoos Winery
Picton offers excellent shopping facilities, live theatre, fine heritage homes and public buildings, a beautiful harbour and marina as well as six municipal parks including the grand Macaulay Heritage Park. As the seat of government for Prince Edward County, Picton houses the District Court and Land Registry Office. Incorporated in 1837, Picton is Prince Edward County’s Town. Prior to that date, the separate villages of Picton and Hallowell Bridge occupied opposite sides of Picton Bay. Named after General Sir Thomas Picton, Wellington’s second-in-command at the Battle of Waterloo, the Town of Picton has a rich history. It was here that Sir John A. Macdonald managed a law office for his uncle, Lowther P. MacPherson. Also see history of Picton’s castles (photos of Rickarton Castle and Castle Villenueve in the photo gallery above) Picton Business Directory Where to Stay Where to Shop Where to Eat Grocery & Convenience Beer, Wine & Liquor Gas Stations Favourite hangout from Tee Durning ☞ The little park on Hill Street overlooking the Prince Edward Yacht Club. Attractions The Regent Theatre Picton Harbour The Crystal Palace Macaulay Heritage Park Sir John A Macdonald life-sized sculpture Bird House City Dog Park Picton Walking Circles Public Parks & Playgrounds Youth Park/Skateboard […]
Rossmore is located on the edge of the Bay of Quinte, at the base of the Bay Bridge on Highway 62. It forms the northern entrance to Prince Edward County. Rossmore Business Directory Restaurants & Eateries Shopping Business Services Attractions Rossmore Trail
Northport is located on the Bay of Quinte, featuring beautiful sunsets and great fishing. It is approx. a 20 minute drive from Picton or 30 minutes from Belleville. Northport has a picturesque public park with a boat launching area. Favourite hangout: Centennial Park in Northport. Love it. … Rick Mayhew Boat launch at Centennial Park – 1417 B County Road 15 in Northport, Sophiasburgh Ward B&Bs, Cottages, Campgrounds Three Dog Winery at Fish Lake Fishing & Fishing Resorts Sophiasburgh Recreation Committee Sophiasburgh Activity pad at Friendship Lane – behind Sophiasburgh Town Hall in nearby Demorestville
The Village of Milford — a delightful village steeped in history waiting to be re-discovered. For a century and a half, saw, grist and carding mills operated in this once flourishing hamlet. One of the oldest mills along with the property, dam and millpond was purchased by the Prince Edward Region Conservation Authority in 1975. A visit to this exceptionally scenic spot with its friendly people and inviting shops is a must. Milford Business Directory Where to Stay Where to Eat Wineries near Milford South Marysburgh Mirror, News and events for South Marysburgh residents, visitors and businesses, since 1985 Attractions Saturday Milford Market Mount Tabor Playhouse Mill Pond Conservation Area Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory Mariner’s Park Museum Events Milford Fair (September) Winter Carnival (January) Walking Tours – Milford Meanderings In their operating season, The County Museums offer a selection of walking tours for groups (minimum of 10 people or equivalent rate); these tours must be pre-arranged with museum staff. Cost: $10 per person (incl. HST) Enjoy a walking tour through the charming village of Milford, aptly named as it was once home to saw, grist and carding mills in the settlement’s earliest days. Contact: thecounty.ca/county-government/departments/museums/contact-us/
Hillier is located on the Loyalist Parkway scenic route (Highway 33) and is roughly 30 minutes from Belleville. Hillier’s population is roughly 100 people. The town hall, which is at the centre of the hamlet, was once a school and has been marked as a national historical site. Hillier is well known in its area for its many wineries, as well as its Hillier in the Park Day, which takes place in August and regularly draws in hundreds of families from the Prince Edward County area. Established in 1823, Hillier was named after Major George Hillier, military secretary to Sir Peregrine Maitland. Business Directory Where to Stay Wineries in the Hillier area
Demorestville is a small hamlet in the township/ward of Sophiasburgh in Prince Edward County. Once much larger, it currently has a population of approximately one hundred. A creek (known locally as “The Crick”) which once powered mills fed by Fish Lake, flows through the centre of town and has now been protected under the Demorestville Conservation Area. There are picnic tables and hiking trails on the property. This hamlet, named after Guillaume de Morest, a French Huguenot descendant, was a thriving community in the 1840s, bustling with activity and supporting a population of 400 persons. A series of mills were built along the creek from Fish Lake to the Bay of Quinte. In addition to several mills, de Morest built a church which he turned over the Methodist faith. Reference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demorestville,_Ontario Boat launch at nearby Centennial Park – 1417 B County Road 15 in Northport, Sophiasburgh Ward B&Bs, Cottages, Campgrounds Fishing & Fishing Resorts Three Dog Winery at Fish Lake Sophiasburgh Recreation Committee Sophiasburgh Activity pad at Friendship Lane – behind Sophiasburgh Town Hall
Consecon village, the Western Gateway into Prince Edward County, is a friendly and scenic village with historic buildings, shops, a gallery, artisan studios, places to eat, drink, live entertainment as well as services & conveniences. A pub is in the old grist mill overlooking the dam and the millpond runs through the centre of the village connecting Lake Consecon to Weller’s Bay. Stop on the way into The County and experience life in Consecon. Favourite hangout: I think that would have to be Consecon! … Tyler Ledger Consecon Business Directory Where to Stay Where to Eat Where to Shop Liquor & Wine Attractions North Beach Provincial Park Wellers Bay boat launch Millennium Trail Consecon Mill Dam Conservation Area pond & park (picnic tables, fishing) Consecon country market Youth park (across from the mill ‘Cascades’) Events Banner Painting Festival (spring) Consecon Day, the long weekend in August Christmas parade (November) Public Washroom: A public toilet is set up in the park in the centre of town during summer months. History Consecon draws on a rich history which played out over four distinct phases. “Consecon” is derived from the Indian word “Knan Nokjarm” which means an opening, and “con con” which means pickerel. Champlain […]
The hamlet of Cherry Valley is nestled at the head of East Lake, at the intersection of Cty. Rds 24 and 18. A public boat launch is nearby, as well as several campgrounds and cottages. On route to Sandbanks Provincial Park and many campgrounds and resorts, ‘the valley’ has a small playground behind the Town Hall at 1625 County Rd. 10 plus the waterfront Lions Club Park with a small dock and boat launch. No playground equipment but lots of room to run and play. Point Petre (pronounced Point Peter by locals) is a scenic spot near Cherry Valley. It is a favourite for picnics and swimming. Beaver Meadow Wildlife Area just off Cty. Rd. 11, 89 hectares in all, offers wildlife viewing. A great blue heron rookery, one of five colonies in the County, is located here. The 600 or more wild turkeys currently roaming around Prince Edward County are a result of an initial release of some 20 birds here in 1989. Cherry Valley Business Directory Where to Stay Recreation In Cherry Valley washrooms are open to the public at the town hall.
Cherry Valley, Ontario
Carrying Place is a community that serves as the gateway to Prince Edward County. Situated just south of Trenton, it was named for its location on the portage between the Bay of Quinte and Weller’s Bay on Lake Ontario. The Loyalist Parkway passes through the community. Carrying Place is home to the Department of National Defence’s LPH-89 antenna farm attached to CFB Trenton and located along Loyalist Parkway south of Twelve O’clock Point. Of considerable historical importance, Carrying Place or the Portage was thought to have a better future than Toronto when water transport was the principal means of travel. Situated on the narrow neck of land separating the western terminus of the Bay of Quinte from Weller’s Bay on Lake Ontario, it was a thriving community in the 1800′s. Both ends of the old portage route were well-developed to accommodate the needs of the tired traveler. Used for centuries by the Indians, Champlain rested here in 1615. A stone cairn commemorates the signing of the Gunshot Treaty of 1787. (It was by this treaty that the Mississauga Indians relinquished to the Crown all of their lands stretching from the Bay of Quinte westerly to the Etobicoke River, including the City […]
The Village of Bloomfield is located on the Loyalist Parkway in the centre of “The County”. Some of the finest artisans/craft shops, antique shops, restaurants and bed and breakfasts are located here. Enjoy a picnic at the restored Bloomfield Mill Pond. Named after Captain Bloomfield in 1833, the village was a thriving community and the heart of early Quakerism in Prince Edward County. Bull’s Creek on the east side supported a number of grist, flour, woolen and saw mills. Farming played an important role in Bloomfield’s history along with its canning and cheese factories. Bloomfield Business Directory Where to Stay Where to Shop Where to Eat Family Activities Millpond Conservation Area & Park, Mill Street, Bloomfield features fishing and picnic areas. Ice cream at Slickers! Public washrooms are located behind the Town Hall, at the west end of the shopping district. Also at the Public Library (part-time hours).
The Village of Ameliasburgh was named after Princess Amelia, the 15th child of King George III. This hamlet nestles on Roblin Lake, and was supported by a grist and flour mill, which drew the lake’s water to the mill located in what is now the Harry J. Smith Conservation Area. The Conservation Area is a delight for anyone with an eye for beauty, and a delightful spot for your picnic. Be sure to visit the Ameliasburgh Museum & Pioneer Village housed in a former Methodist church built in 1868. Opposite the museum is a newer building belonging to the Seventh Town Historical Society. The local library is housed in an old schoolhouse built in 1870. Ameliasburgh attractions: Al Purdy A-Frame Ameliasburgh Heritage Village Marilyn Adams Genealogical Research Centre Quinte Educational Museum Events: Auto Club Street Meet (August) Ameliasburgh Fall Fair (October) Christmas in the Village (December) Ameliasburgh Winter Carnival (February) Ameliasburgh Village Walking Tours Participate in a walking tour through the village of Ameliasburgh, formerly Roblin’s Mills. Along the shores of Roblin Lake, this quiet little community has a big history. The village is a hidden gem in Prince Edward County and is also the beloved home of the late Canadian poet, Al Purdy. In their operating […]