The Village of Ameliasburgh was named after Princess Amelia, the 15th child of King George III. This hamlet nestles on Roblin Lake, and was supported by a grist and flour mill, which drew the lake’s water to the mill located in what is now the Harry J. Smith Conservation Area. The Conservation Area is a delight for anyone with an eye for beauty, and a delightful spot for your picnic.
Be sure to visit the Ameliasburgh Museum & Pioneer Village housed in a former Methodist church built in 1868. Opposite the museum is a newer building belonging to the Seventh Town Historical Society. The local library is housed in an old schoolhouse built in 1870.
- Al Purdy A-Frame
- Ameliasburgh Heritage Village
- Marilyn Adams Genealogical Research Centre
- Quinte Educational Museum
- Auto Club Street Meet (August)
- Ameliasburgh Fall Fair (October)
- Christmas in the Village (December)
- Ameliasburgh Winter Carnival (February)
Ameliasburgh Village Walking Tours
Participate in a walking tour through the village of Ameliasburgh, formerly Roblin’s Mills. Along the shores of Roblin Lake, this quiet little community has a big history. The village is a hidden gem in Prince Edward County and is also the beloved home of the late Canadian poet, Al Purdy.
In their operating season, The County Museums offer a selection of additional walking tours for groups (minimum of 10 people or equivalent rate); these tours must be pre-arranged with museum staff. Cost: $10 per person (incl. HST)