- Cycle Friendly
- Dock or Boat Ramp
- Dog friendly
- Picnic spot
The Village of Ameliasburgh was named after Princess Amelia, the 15th child of King George III. This hamlet nestles on Roblin Lake, and was supported by a grist and flour mill, which drew the lake’s water to the mill located in what is now the Harry J. Smith Conservation Area. The Conservation Area is a delight for anyone with an eye for beauty, and a delightful spot for your picnic. Be sure to visit the Ameliasburgh Museum & Pioneer Village housed in a former Methodist church built in 1868. Opposite the museum is a newer building belonging to the Seventh Town Historical Society. The local library is housed in an old schoolhouse built in 1870. Ameliasburgh attractions: Al Purdy A-Frame Ameliasburgh Heritage Village Marilyn Adams Genealogical Research Centre Quinte Educational Museum Events: Auto Club Street Meet (August) Ameliasburgh Fall Fair (October) Christmas in the Village (December) Ameliasburgh Winter Carnival (February) Ameliasburgh Village Walking Tours Participate in a walking tour through the village of Ameliasburgh, formerly Roblin’s Mills. Along the shores of Roblin Lake, this quiet little community has a big history. The village is a hidden gem in Prince Edward County and is also the beloved home of the late Canadian poet, Al Purdy. In their operating […]
At Roblin Lake Fairgrounds At this great little country fair there are prizes for everything from pickles to pets to the best costume. The Fair is kicked off with a parade along the main street of Ameliasburgh and into the fairgrounds. The County Carriage Co. will be offering wagon rides, and there will be a petting zoo on Sunday. For details visit www.ameliasburgh.com/fallfair 613-968-9016
Ameliasburgh Heritage Village has grown from one building, in 1968, to a full pioneer village. The main structure was built in 1868 as a Wesleyan Methodist Church. It became a United Church in 1925 and served the community until 1967. Over the years, several additional buildings have been added to the site. A log cabin, display barns, an operational blacksmith shop, a sap shanty, dairy and bee-keeping buildings, and a large stone building housing the Goldie Corliss 18 foot flywheel. A highlight is Amelia’s Tea Room, which offers breakfast and/or lunch during Special Events on site. Upcoming Events in 2017: June 10-11 – Grandparents Weekend, 9:30-4:30. Celebration of generations, grandparents admitted free. Sept 3 – Homestead Heritage Days, 12-4. Heritage skills, demonstrations, blacksmith, corn roast. Dec 3 – Christmas in the Village. Tour around Ameliasburgh Village. Decorate Christmas cookies and evergreens; authentic settler Christmas at Museum’s log cabin; crafts and activities at Victoria Schoolhouse. Free, 1-4pm. Admission by donation. 476-2148 ext.258, [email protected] Ameliasburgh Heritage Village welcomes: Bus Tours School Visits Volunteers If booked in advance, the museum can also provide walking tours of the village of Ameliasburgh for groups.
Consecon village, the Western Gateway into Prince Edward County, is a friendly and scenic village with historic buildings, shops, a gallery, artisan studios, places to eat, drink, live entertainment as well as services & conveniences. The old grist mill overlooks the dam and the millpond runs through the centre of the village connecting Consecon Lake to Wellers Bay. Stop on the way into The County and experience life in Consecon. Favourite hangout: I think that would have to be Consecon! … Tyler Ledger Consecon Business Directory Where to Stay Where to Eat Where to Shop Liquor & Wine Attractions North Beach Provincial Park Wellers Bay boat launch Millennium Trail Consecon Mill Dam Conservation Area pond & park (picnic tables, fishing) Consecon country market Youth park (across from the mill ‘Cascades’) Events Banner Painting Festival (spring) Consecon Day, the long weekend in August Christmas festivities (November) Public Washroom: A public toilet is set up in the park in the centre of town during summer months. History Consecon draws on a rich history which played out over four distinct phases. “Consecon” is derived from the Indian word “Knan Nokjarm” which means an opening, and “con con” which means pickerel. Champlain slept here in […]
Come out and attend and/or participate, spend the whole day with us. Let’s make this parade, the best Consecon Christmas ever! Sponsored by the Ameliasburgh Ward 4 Recreation Committee. Check details at … http://consecon.ca
Private waterfront cottage on large one acre lot overlooking Lake Consecon, available for weekly rentals on a large private one acre lot. Front and back decks with patio furniture, back deck overlooks the lake with amazing sunsets. Fire pit for bonfires and marshmallow roasting. Includes all the necessary amenities, kitchen supplies appliances including coffee maker, microwave. Propane BBQ available. 3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, accommodates 5-6. Pets are welcome. Seasonal Rentals June – Sept, weekly rentals Sun to Sun Will consider 4-5 night stays if availability permits.
4712 Prince Edward Road 1 Consecon ON
Experience the joy of cooking seasonally. From the Farm Cooking School is the ultimate field to table culinary experience. Located in a 1830’s farmhouse, the classes will capture your heart and senses. Private sessions for groups/couples or pick a Saturday class. Cooking Classes/Schedule Learn the art of seasonal cooking using fresh, local ingredients with personal chef and food writer, Cynthia Peters. Culinary Adventure Visit local farms and meet the farmers, cook a delicious lunch in a chef’s home kitchen, then explore the area’s wineries. Private Group Classes We offer private group cooking lessons for groups of 4 or more. In the Press The school is an ideal getaway for city dwellers seeking a rural refuge. – Lisa Jackson, Huffington Post GIFT CERTIFICATES Give them an experience they’ll never forget. A great gift for celebrating a birthday, wedding or anniversary. Available for all our public and private classes, tours and packages. THE ART OF HERBS Art-of-Herbs-Cookbook – Our unique cookbook with a collection of original paintings from renowned Canadian encaustic artist, Susan Wallis, paired with herb-infused recipes.
618 Burr Rd. , Picton Ontario
Season opening May 20th. Become part of the 200 year old journey on our waterfront farm in the magnificent Prince Edward County. Reconnect to food, self-sufficiency and simple living while overnighting in our luxury prospector tents complete with a summer kitchen and ensuite bathroom. The Camp: Our authentic log-framed canvas prospector tents are just the right mix of rustic luxury you need to slow down and reconnect. Each tent-suite features a kingsized bed, inside sitting lounge, ensuite bathroom with a hot shower and a private outdoor kitchen featuring a charcoal grill. Everything you need to live a simple, beautiful experience! Accommodations available with reservation. (800) 427-1257 242 The Brewery: Witness Heritage in the Making. In 2014 we launched the ambitious vision to establish the County’s first organic farm brewery using heirloom hops and malt barley cultivars grown right here on our farm. The Fronterra Farm Brewery is set on our farm’s legendary Hillier soils which defined the County in the barley boom of the late 19th century and again in 2007 as Canada’s newest VQA wine appellation. Come join our adventure to explore the terroir of the land and brew some truly historic beers. The Farm: Join us as we […]
Fronterra Farm Camp & BreweryLuxury Camping ("Glamping"). Fronterra Farm Brewery. Brewery Camp "plough to pint" experiences and more.
242 County Rd 27, Consecon, Ontario
Graveyard & Gallows Walking Tour: Friday nights in Picton (July & August) 6:30 p.m.- 1.5 hours walking tour through the grounds and graveyard at Macaulay Heritage Park, venturing on to the neighbouring County Gaol & Gallows, the site of a most notorious double hanging in 1884. Graveyard & Gallows Tours are booked through the Regent Theatre 224 Main St. Picton 613.476.8416 www.theregenttheatre.org Other Walking Tours In their operating season, The County Museums offer a selection of additional walking tours for groups (minimum of 10 people or equivalent rate); these tours must be pre-arranged with museum staff. Cost: $10 per person (incl. HST) Milford Meanderings (Mariners Park Museum) Enjoy a walking tour through the charming village of Milford, aptly named as it was once home to saw, grist and carding mills in the settlement’s earliest days. Wellington Walkabout Tour (Wellington Heritage Museum) Experience a walking tour through the rich history of Wellington village on the shores of Lake Ontario, complete with architectural highlights and fascinating stories that will make you love the village all the more! Ameliasburgh Village (Ameliasburgh Heritage Village) Participate in a walking tour through the village of Ameliasburgh, formerly Roblin’s Mills. Along the shores of Roblin Lake, this quiet […]
Scenic Five-Level Park Comfortable lakeside cottages. Free boat launching & docking for cottage customers. Campsites with water and electricity. Springfed lake with excellent fishing. Cycling distance to 6 wineries. Features: Boat and Motor Rentals, Canoe & paddleboat rentals, Hot showers, In-ground Pool, Camp Store, Recreation barn, Playground, Horseshoes, Volleyball, Pet friendly
Relax and enjoy the quiet comfort of our lakeside home in the heart of wine region. Brand new unique contemporary home on two acres overlooking Consecon Lake with modern amenities. Two suites available with private washrooms, air-conditioning and new beds with cozy duvets. Breakfast served in our spacious dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the water. Enjoy some quiet time overlooking Consecon Lake on our large covered raised glassed deck. Wireless internet and HD television available. Microwave and bar fridge available for the lower walk out suite in the adjoining family room. Close to wineries, Bloomfield, Wellington, Picton, Lake on the Mountain, Glenora Ferry, great restaurants, and beautiful country drives to the county’s local attractions including Sandbanks Provincial Park and beaches. Features: waterfront • bicycle storage • motorycycle parking • A/C • cable/satellite • ensuite bath • internet • kitchen/ette
4586 Prince Edward Road 1, Consecon, Ontario
The Marilyn Adams Research Centre, at Ameliasburgh, Ontario is the only free standing Genealogical Research Centre in Canada. Visit the library in person to research your family genealogy, access our databases online, or request help from our volunteers. Searchable Names Database Online: an index to over 1.1 million names from genealogies in the library. Heal Database: an index to 147,760 names in the Heal Collection.
528 County Rd. 19, Ameliasburgh Ontario
Canada’s only truly “green” winery, being “off-Grid” and following organic practices in the vineyard and the winery. Sun, soil and organic practices help craft Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir from grapes grown on the property. We also offer County Chardonnay and Riesling. Come and Taste with us at Redtail Vineyard Hours: April To October Daily 10.30am – 5pm November To March Saturday & Sunday 10.30am – 5pm Monday – Thursday, By chance or Appt
422 Partridge Hollow Road Consecon Ontario
At the Ameliasburgh Town Hall, 13 Coleman Street. The 3rd Saturday of every month, 1-4 pm All performers welcome, whether self-accompanied, vocal only, or as part of a group – or come out & enjoy other’s music! Classic rock, country and any other genre welcome! Sponsored by the Ameliasburgh Recreation Committee; no charge, refreshments available. See schedule: http://prince-edward-county.com/event/roblin-lake-jamboree-open-mic/
13 Coleman Street, Ameliasburg, Ontario
Roblin Lake is a rare kind of “lake within a lake”. It is nestled in Prince Edward County and is a kind of “fossil water”, a pool left behind by the glaciers that was once connected to Lake Ontario. Roblin Lake is home to one of Canada’s most famous A-frame log cabins, built by one of Canada’s most famous poets Al Purdy. Roblin Park features a ball diamond, playground, boat launch, and a small sandy beach. Check Beach Posting status: https://www.theswimguide.org/beach/105
Coleman St, Ameliasburgh, ON K0K 1A0.
extensive private beach on Lake Ontario ideal swimming, watersports, birdwatching spectacular sunsets minutes to wineries, spas, shopping, casual or fine restaurants excellent local golf, tranquil cycling
R.R. #3 Consecon Ontario
Walk, run or bike on the Millennium Trail – a former railway that’s been converted into a multipurpose trail. You’ll pass by farmers fields, forests and creeks, not to mention marshes that are teeming with wildlife like frogs, turtles, beavers, and birds. A great spot to take the dog for a long walk or just to get out and enjoy nature for a while. Status in 2017 The Trail is a work in progress but only the 11 km stretch in and around Wellington from Danforth Rd. east to Cty. Rd. 2 is good for cycling. The stretch from there east to Picton is rough but passable. The stretch to the west from Danforth becomes impassable, at times under water and muddy, and rocky. The plan is to have the entire trail completed in two years time. The trail system serves as a County wide recreational facility for local residents, visitors and to provide access for farm vehicles by adjacent land owners. The trail corridor is 15 meters in width and 49 kilometers in length and a total land area of 73.5 hectares. The trail starts in Carrying Place and winds through the County to Picton with various vistas and […]
Prince Edward County, Ontario
Photography & Videography: Vaughan Group provides professional commercial, events, portrait, family & wedding photography at reasonable prices for clients in Prince Edward County & Quinte Region. Contact us for a free consultation. Design/Marketing/Consulting: Vaughan Group designs websites, logos, ads, print/collateral and provides the professional photography and business/market planning to pull it all together. Contact us for a free consultation. We’re all Yours!
66 Rowlands Lane Ameliasburgh Ontario
Quinte Educational Museum & Archives (QEMA) Celebrating the History of Education in the Quinte Area The Montgomery Family has generously donated the 1904 `Victoria Schoolhouse` to be used as the new, permanent home for QEMA`s extensive collections. We are currently located in the former Ameliasburgh Council Chambers at 13 Coleman Street in Ameliasburg, with our century-old Victoria Schoolhouse on location at the Ameliasburgh Heritage Village. We are open daily for the season from the Victoria Day Weekend until Labour Day Weekend from 9:30 am to 4:30 pm. Closed Mondays and Tuesdays. The Archives are open on Monday mornings. Appointments may be arranged outside these times by calling our office at 613-966-5501. Visit our website for details.
Victoria School (museum)Quinte Educational Museum & Archives (QEMA) Celebrating the History of Education in the Quinte Area
517 County Rd 19, Ameliasburgh, Ontario